Child Support Guidelines
Both parents have a responsibility to provide financial support for their children. If you and your child reside primarily in North Carolina, and you and the other parent’s adjusted gross income is less than $300,000, the North Carolina Child Support Guidelines will help you determine the amount of child support to be paid or received.
The guidelines are determined by the gross income of both parents per month, the amount of health, dental, and/or vision insurance that is paid for the child per month, the amount of work-related child care that each parent pays for per month, other extraordinary expenses and the number of overnights the children are with each parent. Once these figures are entered on the child support worksheet, the child support calculator will determine the amount of monthly child support to be paid. The child support calculators provide basic support amounts. It is important that you talk with a family law attorney who has experience in child support matters to see if you have any special facts and circumstances that could reduce or increase the basic amount. The attorneys with New Direction Family Law, have that experience.
They can talk with you during your initial consultation about such things as whether the child has any special medical needs or attends private school due to a learning disability or health issue. They can learn if there will be expenses involved when the child has visitation with the other parent. All of these factors, and more, can determine how much child support will be paid.
Your Child Support Questions Answered
How long does child support last?
Child support obligations continue until the child turns 18 years old. However, if a child is 18 years of age, still in high school, and making progress toward graduating, the court can order child support to continue until the child graduates from high school or turns 20 years old, whichever comes first.
What are the child support guidelines?
The guidelines are determined by the gross income of both parents per month, the amount of health, dental, and/or vision insurance that is paid for the child per month, the amount of work-related childcare that each parent pays for per month, and other extraordinary expenses. Once these figures are entered on the child support worksheet, the child support calculator will determine the amount of monthly child support to be paid.
There are three different child support worksheets. Worksheet A is used when one parent has primary custody and the other has less than 123 overnights a year with the child. Worksheet B is used when parents have joint physical custody and when one parent has more than 123 overnights a year with the child. Worksheet C is used when the parents have “split custody,” which means that one child lives primarily with one parent and another child lives primarily with the other parent.
Are child support and child custody decided as one issue?
Child support and child custody are considered two separate issues to the court. What does this mean? It means that even if the other parent is not letting you see the child, you must still pay child support. However, if this is your situation, you can seek court assistance to have a custody plan put in place or enforced. Learn more by scheduling an initial consultation. We can be reached through our online contact form or by calling (919) 719-3470.
Can we decide how much child support will be paid even if it is not what the guidelines would determine?
Yes. Just like child custody, spousal support, and property division, you and your partner or spouse can determine what you believe is needed for the support of your children, even if is higher than what the guidelines suggest. Again, each family is unique, and you know best what is needed.
By scheduling an initial consultation with one of our attorneys, you can have this and your other questions and concerns answered. Just fill out the online contact form or call our office at (919) 719-3470 to schedule your initial consultation.